Boston Strong

18 Apr

boston-strong-logo  Although this blog is about steroid cases in professional sports, being from outside Boston I couldn’t help but write about the Boston Marathon Bombings.

liabrouillard-BostonStrong This is one of those tragedies where I will always remember where I was, and how I found out about the events on Marathon Monday. As an avid sports enthusiast I was watching the marathon and appreciating having Patriot’s Day off so I could catch up on some of my course work. I left the room for now more than 5 minutes, and came back to the initial reports of an explosion by the finish line.

andruzzi

None of it seemed real to me, Boston is the closest city to me and although it is smaller than most major United States cities, it is one of the most amazing places I have ever been. Every trip to the city has been a positive experience for me, like many others. However in the wake of this event, the image of safety anywhere is now tarnished. These things never seem to occur in the close knit place, however anywhere is subject to this type of disaster. The support Boston has received from all around the world is truly heartwarming.

love to bostonBoston is a strong city and the with this strength we are able to stand together and weather this adversity together. “You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean does not become dirty.” -Gandhi. Even President Obama acknowledged the strength of the city in saying “Boston, is a tough, resilient town and so are its people.”

batman-boston

The President of my college, Endicott College sent a touching email to us and this exerpt was particularly touching to me “Following these events, I urge us all to be little kinder and gentler and to recognize that we all seek love and understanding to conquer adversity.  So, take a minute today and every day to tell your family and your friends that you love them and will be there when they need you.  If we all work together, we can make a better and safer world.”

Remember to be kind to all, never forget all that you have in your life, and most importantly stay Boston Strong.

illuminator-boston

Leave a comment